New blood for Australian Migration Review Tribunal

08 December 2008

The Australian Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, Senator Chris Evans, has announced the appointment of five Senior Members to the Migration Review Tribunal (MRT)

The five successful applicants were unanimously selected through a merit-based process by a panel chaired by Andrew Metcalfe, Secretary of the Department of Immigration and Citizenship.

'Each of the successful applicants demonstrated a strong sense of fairness and understanding of the principles of administrative law and the ability to apply these skills in determining review applications,' Senator Evans said.

'Their qualifications and experience will ensure the effective delivery of review decisions.'

'My decision to test the field, rather than re-appoint current members as has occurred in previous years, opened the process to the best possible candidates and has ensured a fair and robust selection process.'

All have been appointed for five years commencing on 1 January 2009.