Changes to Passmark for New Zealand immigration General Skills Category

01 May 2002

It has jus t been announced by the New Zealand Immigration Service (NZIS)that from 18 June 2002 to 31 July 2002, overseas nationals applying for permanent residence in New Zealand under the General Skills Category will need a total of 28 points, instead of the 25 that are currently required.

Applications received before 18 June 2002 will still only require a total of 25 points.

From 1 July 2002, the passmark will be reviewed each month.

The Minister of Immigration will give five working days notice if the passmark is to be changed.

If you have a job offer in New Zealand, please read the following: from 1 July 2002, points for a relevant job offer will be allocated as follows:

General Skills Category Passmark Points Awarded for Relevant Job Offer
25 or under 5 points
26 6 points
27 7 points
28 or above 8 points

For more information on the new General Skills Category passmark and the points for a relevant job offer, please contact Elfa on or see the NZIS website. Relevant changes will be made to our website shortly.